Will Commonwealth Countries Pull Away From The Crown?

The King met today with members of the monarchy’s Commonwealth. Currently, there are 56 independent nations, mostly former British colonies, that are loosely members of the Commonwealth. The 14 Commonwealth realms outside the U.K. now recognize the new king as their head of state. An April poll in Canada showed as long as the Queen was alive, 55% of Canadians wanted to remain a constitutional monarchy, but after her death, only 34% thought the system made sense. Last year Barbados voted to become a Republic meaning the British Monarch is no longer its head of state, though the island country is still a member of the Commonwealth. Jamaica is now pushing for a similar vote.

» Subscribe to NBC News: http://nbcnews.to/SubscribeToNBC
» Watch more NBC video: http://bit.ly/MoreNBCNews

NBC News Digital is a collection of innovative and powerful news brands that deliver compelling, diverse and engaging news stories. NBC News Digital features NBCNews.com, MSNBC.com, TODAY.com, Nightly News, Meet the Press, Dateline, and the existing apps and digital extensions of these respective properties. We deliver the best in breaking news, live video coverage, original journalism and segments from your favorite NBC News Shows.

Connect with NBC News Online!
NBC News App: https://smart.link/5d0cd9df61b80
Breaking News Alerts: https://link.nbcnews.com/join/5cj/breaking-news-signup?cid=sm_npd_nn_yt_bn-clip_190621
Visit NBCNews.Com: http://nbcnews.to/ReadNBC
Find NBC News on Facebook: http://nbcnews.to/LikeNBC
Follow NBC News on Twitter: http://nbcnews.to/FollowNBC

#NBCNews #Commonwealth #KingCharles

You May Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.